Apply Now

2016-17 TL1 Postdoctoral Training Award recipients

Author: Jenna Bilinski

The Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (ICTSI) recently announced its 2016-17 TL1 Postdoctoral Training Award recipients.   ICTSI was able to fund 5 postdoctoral awards (2 renewals and 3 new awards) this period.  The awards, funded by ICTSI (partially funded by the National Institutes of Health, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, Clinical and Translational Sciences Award, and institutional support) are focused on improving young scientists at the participating universities. 

The 2016TL1 Postdoctoral awardees are:


  • Jason Collett, PhD (new), Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology, IU School of Medicine, is investigating the use of human adipose stromal cells in the treatment of kidney injury and prevention of kidney disease.

  • Andrea Frump, PhD (renewal), Department of Pulmonology, IU School of Medicine, is studying molecular and translational approaches to right ventricular failure.

  • Erin Howe, PhD (new), Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, is a member of Dr. Siyuan Zhang’s lab and is studying the role of Rab11b in breast cancer metastasis in the brain.

  • Patrick Quinn, PhD (renewal), Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, IU, Bloomington, is analyzing large databases to study the causes and consequences of opioid and other substance abuse.

  • Abigail Weaver, PhD (new), Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Notre Dame, is a member of Dr. Joshua Shrout’s lab and is developing an ex vivo assay to study microbial interactions in prosthetic joint infections.

Originally published by Jenna Bilinski at on May 16, 2016.